Stenciled Summer T-Shirt

Summer vacation officially begins for us next Thursday, but it looks like it has already started for many kids already. I found this bright green shirt on clearance last year and thought it would be fun to turn it into a cute t-shirt for summer.

I cut the decal out in vinyl and peeled out the reverse image so I could stencil it with paint onto the shirt. Sometimes it’s a little tricky to get vinyl to stick to fabric, so here’s a tip. Use a piece of transfer tape that has already been used or lightly rub a t-shirt on a new piece to remove some of the tackiness. Also, place a piece of cardboard between the shirt to keep the paint from going through to the back.

I wanted the paint to be subtle, so instead of using a paintbrush, I used a small sponge.  I just lightly dabbed on the paint until I was happy with how it looked.

 After it had dried for about 5-7 minutes, I pulled up the vinyl and was left with this fun summer shirt!

Come back later for the free file to create your own!

Be sure to check out these great linky parties:
Monday Craftastic Mon, Craft-O-Manic Mon, Made By You Mon, Made With Love Mon,Making the World Cuter, Market Yourself Mon, Marvelous Mess Mon, Metamorphosis Mon, Motivate Me Mon, Tuesday Anti Procrastination Tues, Get Your Craft On, Home Stories A to Z,Nifty Thrifty TuesShow Me What You Got, Take A Look Tues, Time To Shine, Wednesday Linkin’ with Luna, Look What I Made, Penny Pinching PartyShow And Share,, We Did It Wed, What I Whipped Up Wed Whatever Goes Wed, Wow Me Wed, Wow Me Wed, Thursday Taylor House Thursday, A Crafty Soiree, Hookin’ Up, Strut Your Stuff ThurCatch as Catch Can, Transformation Thur, Under $100 Linky Party, Friday Flaunt It Fri, I’m Lovin’ It Fri, Inspiration Fri, Remodelaholic Fri, Weekend Wander, Weekend Wrap-UpSaturday Show & Tell Sat, Sunday Just Something I Whipped Up, Nifty Thrifty Sun, Sun Showcase, Sun Scoop, Think Pink Sun

2 thoughts on “Stenciled Summer T-Shirt”

Leave a comment