Burlap Spider Web Garland

I’ve been waiting all summer to do this project and today I finally got around to doing it. It’s one of my first projects with burlap and I’m so excited about how it turned out. It’s also my first Halloween project this year and I’ve already got lots of other ideas floating around in my head.
Here’s what you need to make it:
Burlap (or any other white/off white-ish fabric)
Freezer Paper (or vinyl)
Black Paint (I used spray paint)
Scissors, Marker, and Iron
Cut off a section of freezer paper about 6″ longer than your spider web (my webs were about 16″ x 9″, so I cut off a section about 22″). Fold the freezer paper in half. Draw or trace the outline of a spider web. I actually drew a spider web on the computer, printed it out and traced it.
Outline until you get the lines the thickness you want. The line on the fold should be half the thickness of the other lines. With scissors (or a craft knife), cut out the white spaces.
Open it up and iron onto your fabric.
Paint the fabic black. I did just one uneven coat. After it’s dry, peel off the freezer paper.
Cut the edges to match the shape of the web. To prevent excessive fraying, you can sew a line 1/4″ to 1/2″ from the edges. Sew or glue several together to create a fun halloween garland.
This project is super fast and easy if you have a vinyl cutter. Cut out the spider webs in vinyl. Stick them on the finished edge of a piece of fabric (I actually used an old white sheet). Overlap the edges so they are all connected. Paint the fabric black. When it’s dry, remove the vinyl and trim around the edges.
Be sure to check out how to use the stencil negative to create the opposite look.
Here is the file I created. You can save it on your computer, size it to your needs, and print.

Be sure to check out these great linky parties:
Monday Amaze Me Mon, Craftastic Mon, Craft-O-Manic Mon, Homemaker Mon, Inspire Me Mon, Link Party Mon, Mad Skills, Mad Skills Mon, Made By You Mon, Made With Love Mon, Make Something Mon, Making Mon Marvelous, Making the World Cuter, Market Yourself Mon, Marvelous Mess Mon, Masterpiece Mon, Metamorphosis Mon, Motivate Me Mon, Blog Party, Project Parade, Share Mon, Thrifty Décor Chick, Unwasted Homemaking, Craft Catwalk, Craftaholics Anonyomous Tuesday All Thingz Related, Anti Procrastination Tues, Get Your Craft On, Handmade Tues, Home Stories A to Z, It’s Sew Fun, maze Me August, Nifty Thrifty Tues, Power Of Paint, Show Me What You Got, Sizzle into Summer, Take A Look Tues, Teriffic Under Ten Tues, Time To Shine, Wednesday Anything Goes, DIY Under $5, Hoo’s Got Talent?, Idea Sharing Wed, Linkin’ with Luna, Look What I Made, Penny Pinching Party, Primp Your Stuff Wed, Show And Share, Show And Tell, We Did It Wed, What I Made Wed, What I Whipped Up Wedn, What’s Up Wed, Whatever Goes Wed, Wicked Awesome Wed, Wow Me Wed, Wow Me Wed, Thursday A Crafty Soiree, Almost Fri Flaunts, Catch A Glimpse Thur, Commercial Break Thursday, Get Your Brag On, Hookin’ Up, Share Awesomness Thur, Show Off Your Stuff, Strut Your Stuff ThurThur Link Party, Transformation Thur, Under $100 Linky Party, Friday Bacon Time, Delicate Construction, Fabulous Fri, Fantabulous Fri, Feature Your Sassy Sites, Feature Yourself  Fri, Flaunt It FriFree For All Fri, Fri Favorites, Fri Link Party, Frugal Fri, Frugalicious Fri, Hodgepodge Fri, I’m Lovin’ It Fri, Inspiration Fri, Lovely Crafty Weekend, Remodelaholic Fri, Show and Share Day, Scissors & Spatulas, Weekend Wander, Weekend Wrap-Up, Whatcha Got Weekend, Saturday Check Me Out Sat, Sat is Crafty Day, Sat Nite Special, Sat Spotlight, Show & Tell Sat, Summer Lovin’ Sat SoireeSunday Just Something I Whipped Up, Nifty Thrifty SunSister Sister Sun, Sun Showcase, Sun Scoop, Think Pink Sun, You’re So Creative

38 thoughts on “Burlap Spider Web Garland”

  1. What a fun project! LOVE these little web garlands! Really like the idea of the larger, reverse ones on the porch, too : ) I shared this on my crafty facebook page.
    Jaimee @ craft-interrupted.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a comment