Easy Art Center

For some reason, my kids always open new boxes of crayons, markers, pencils, etc. the same way (drives me crazy). How are you supposed to keep crayons in a box like this?
So, in organizing our playroom, I came up with a solution…this cute and easy art center.
I found the white metal board and these little magnetic metal containers at Ikea.

I covered the containers with different colors of vinyl
and added a fun saying to the top of the metal board.

Then, I labeled each container with vinyl letters
and stuck them on the board. 
 Since the containers are magnetic, the kids can easily take them off while they are using them.
So much easier than trying to put them back into the box…especially a ripped box.

*Update: I’ve had many people ask what the items from IKEA are called. Both the containers and metal board are from the SPONTAN collection. I just looked on IKEA’s website and could no longer find the containers but the boards are still available. I don’t know if they are just temporarilly out of stock or have been discontinued. I hope this helps!

Be sure to check out these great linky parties:
Monday Amaze Me Monday, Craftastic Mon, Craft-O-Manic Mon, Homemaker Mon, Inspire Me Mon, Link Party Mon, Mad Skills, Mad Skills Mon, Made By You Monday, Made With Love Mon, Make Something Mon, Making Mon Marvelous, Making the World Cuter, Market Yourself Monday, Marvelous Mess Mon, Masterpiece Monday, Metamorphosis Monday, Motivate Me Monday, Blog Party, Project Parade, Share Mon, Thrifty Décor Chick, Unwasted Homemaking, Craft Catwalk, Tuesday All Thingz Related, Anti Procrastination Tues, Get Your Craft On, Handmade Tuesdays, It’s Sew Fun, maze Me August, Nifty Thrifty Tuesday, Power Of Paint, Show Me What You Got, Sizzle into Summer, Take A Look Tuesday, Teriffic Under Ten Tuesdays, Time To Shine, Wednesday Anything Goes, Hoo’s Got Talent?, Idea Sharing Wednesday, Linkin’ with Luna, Look What I Made, Penny Pinching Party, Primp Your Stuff Wednesday, Show And Tell, We Did It Wednesday, What I Made Wednesday, What I Whipped Up Wednesday, What’s Up Wednesday’s, Whatever Goes Wednesday, Wicked Awesome Wednesday, Wow Me Wednesday, Wow Me Wednesday, Thursday A Crafty Soiree, Almost Fri Flaunts, Catch A Glimpse Thursday, Get Your Brag On, Hookin’ Up, Share Awesomness Thursdays, Show Off Your Stuff, Strut Your Stuff ThurThursday Link Party, Transformation Thursday, Under $100 Linky Party, Friday Bacon Time, Delicate Construction, Fab Friday, Fabulous Friday, Fancy Fri, Fantastic Fri, Feature Your Sassy Sites, Feature Yourself Friday, Flaunt It FridayFree For All Friday, Fri Favorites, Fri Link Party, Frugal Friday, Frugalicious Friday, Hodgepodge Fri, I’m Lovin’ It Fri, Inspiration Fri, Inspiration Friday, Lovely Crafty Weekend, Remodelaholic Friday, Show and Share Day, Scissors & Spatulas, Weekend Wander, Weekend Wrap-Up, Whatcha Got Weekend, Saturday Check Me Out Sat, Sat is Crafty Day, Sat Nite Special, Sat Spotlight, Sat Swagger, Sat Swap, Saturday Night Special, Saturday Spotlight, Shindig Sat, Show & Tell Saturdays, Summer Lovin’ Sat Soiree, Strut You Stuff, Weekend Bloggy Reading, Sunday Just Something I Whipped Up, Nifty Thrifty Sun, Not Baaad Sun, Savory Sun, Sew Darn Crafty, Sister Sister Sun, So Sweet Sun, Sun Blog Hop, Sun Favorites, Sun Linky Party, Sun Showcase, Sundae Scoop, Think Pink Sun, You’re So Creative

60 thoughts on “Easy Art Center”

  1. I absolutely LOVE this idea. I think my kids have the same “gene”! SO frustrating. I keep trying to tape the boxes back together, for it only be ripped again the next time. I'm pretty sure these items will be added to my IKEA list! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment